Back To Blog

New Massachusetts Heating Oil Law

Heating Oil Massachusetts|Real Estate News Arlington MA

Image by Getty Images via @daylife

Did you know there is a New Law in Massachusetts that effects homeowners that have oil heat.  As of September 30, 2011 this law will go into effect. Whether you are selling your home or not you need to understand the law. New Heating Oil Law Effective 9/30/2011
Information provided from Bay State Realtors
New Home Heating Oil Law Goes Into Effect In SeptemberQ. I heard that there is a new law regarding homes with oil heat that will require owners to ensure that they have equipment installed to prevent leaks from tanks and fuel lines. When does it go into effect and what do we need to do?A. The new law requires that by September 30, 2011, owners of one- to four-unit residences that are heated with oil must already have or will need to install an oil safety valve or an oil supply line with a protective sleeve on their heating equipment. Installation of these devices must be performed by a licensed oil burner technician. Technicians are employed by companies that deliver home heating oil, or they are self-employed. It is important to note that heating oil systems installed on or after January 1, 1990 are most likely already in compliance because state fire codes implemented these requirements on new installations at that time. For those who need to install this equipment, state officials estimate that the typical cost of installing either an oil safety valve or oil supply line with a protective sleeve ranges from $150 to $350 (including labor, parts, and local permit fees). While it is an expense that is not insignificant, the costs to clean up a leak can be thousands of dollars.

Heating Oil Rule Applies to All Home Owners

 

It is important for home owners to remember that this rule applies to all home owners, regardless of whether they are selling their home or not. The Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) has an excellent, easy-to-understand document that explains this new rule. The document can be found on MAR's website in the Bay State REALTOR® section under Law and Ethics, or from DEP direct at http://www.mass.gov/dep/cleanup/laws/hhsl.htm

If you have any other questions regarding the selling or buying of a home contact us @ sweeneyandoconnellrealestat.com for all your real estate needs.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Add Comment

Comments are moderated. Please be patient if your comment does not appear immediately. Thank you.

Comments

  1. No comments. Be the first to comment.